Institute for Theoretical Physics

Institute for Theoretical Physics

About us

itf The Institute for Theoretical Physics belongs to the Department of Physics and Astronomy of the Faculty of Sciences of the KULeuven.

The research activities of the Institute cover three different areas of Modern Theoretical Physics: High-Energy Physics, Mathematical Physics and Statistical Physics. In these areas various topics are being investigated. These include String Theory, Particle Physics, Cosmology, Quantum Information Theory, Complex and Out-of-equilibrium Systems, Soft Matter, Liquids, Interfaces, Wetting and Biological Systems.

There are currently about 30 members of the Insitute (8 permanent staff members, 10 post-docs, 10 PhD students and 2 technical and administrative personnel). The full list is here.

For more details about research themes click on the permanent staff members names.

Permanent Staff Members

Nikolay Bobev (High Energy Physics)
Enrico Carlon (Statistical Physics)
Mark Fannes (Mathematical Physics)
Thomas Hertog (High Energy Physics)
Joseph Indekeu (Statistical Physics)
Christian Maes (Mathematical Physics)
Jos Rogiers (Statistical Physics)
Antoine van Proeyen (High Energy Physics)
Thomas Van Riet (High Energy Physics)
Wojciech De Roeck (Mathematical Physics)


Members of the Institute participate in the teaching of the bachelor and master courses at the KULeuven. More information on the structure of the Master courses for students intending to specialize in Theoretical Physics can be found here.

The IITS (Institute for Intensive Theoretical Studies) course is an annual course about some specialized topic in Theoretical Physics, at the level of beginning PhD students. For more details see IITS.

PhD and Post-doc positions

There are a number of PhD and post-doc positions available every year. If you are interested please contact one of the staff members for more information. More information about a PhD at the Institute for Theoretical Physics can be found here. For post-doc applications in the High Energy Physics group see this page.